The Scott Nickerson, MD Annual Peripheral Nerve Essay Award

The Extremity Nerve Research Foundation in cooperation with the Association of Extremity Nerve Surgeons has established the Scott Nickerson, MD Peripheral Nerve Grant. The grant is an annual award open to 4th year medical or podiatry students and all medical or podiatric residents/fellows to support the advancement of extremity nerve research and treatment.

Applicants must submit a maximum 2000 word paper encompassing any of the following topics on peripheral nerve treatment and disorders:

1) Anatomy

2) Diagnosis

3) Pharmacological Treatment

4) Surgical Treatment

5) Conservative Treatment

The final paper as submitted cannot be previously published or presented. Applications must include a Curriculum Vitae/Resume and one letter of reference from an attending or associate physician. 

Click Here to Submit an Application

Papers must be received by Sept 1 at the AENS main office to be considered. Papers MUST include CV, application and letter of reference. Documents may be sent in PDF format to OR mailed to AENS's office. All papers will be reviewed by the grant committee. Winners will be notified by email.

2022 Scott Nickerson Peripheral Nerve Essay Winner: Dr. Kent Olsen, Third-Year Resident, Baylor Scott & White, Temple, TX

Dr. Olsen is pictured here with Dr. Chris Browning, 2022 residency director, and Dr. Doug Murdoch, retired residency director.